Decisions, decissions, deccisions

Many people don’t know this, but there are many ways to spell “decisions.” Deciding which to use is obviously time well spent, if you have the time. Since I’m currently packing and working and fathering and husbanding, I’ve gone and used every acceptable spelling.

Editor’s note: Chris has no clue what he’s talking about. There is only one way to spell decisions.

With that out of the way, let’s get down to the nitty-gritty. Converting a duplex into a single family home is a fun project on certain levels, but on other levels the amount of decision making required is extremely overwhelming.

Getting to play around with the layout is awesome. There are so many different possibilities and discovering which works best for you is really exciting. When Lee and I received the final plans from the architect we were both psyched and felt like we’d checked off a major step, not realizing that there were still many more decisions to be made before the plans would actually be “final.”

plan

Here are a few things we had to figure out:

  • Outlet placement
  • Phone jack placement
  • Cable jack placement
  • Ethernet placement
  • Are we running speaker wire?
  • Types of light switches
  • Lighting plan
  • Floor material
  • Types of doors
  • What about AC?

Editor’s note: What is Ethernet anyways? Is it like the Internet?

There was even more but I thought I would stop listing things before I got to the Astronomical timer since I’m not too sure what it is and whether or not we actually need one. Working on the layout was fun but making all these little decisions is hurting my brain.

I didn’t realize that the architect’s plans had to be so precise. The city requires as much detail as possible in order to approve everything so that we can get the permits we need. I’m sure there’ll be a lot more lame mixed in with the fun as things start to move along. I think for now I just need to practise saying “I want whatever Lee wants” and leave some decision making up to her. 😉

Leave a Reply

